Snakes on a Plane: Chinese New Years

Just got back to China after a very VERY much-needed week back home in America visiting family, friends, and Luke.

On the way to Shanghai on the plan yesterday, I had a nightmare that…. and wait for it, I’m not kidding…. there were snakes on the plane. I didn’t even realize I had fallen asleep. But in my dream I “woke-up” when the plane started experiencing stomach-turning turbulence. Then one of the luggage apartments fell open and snakes fell out of it. But they were weird sparkly Chinese dancing dragon style snakes – shiny toys made out of cheap nylon and plastic. It was both hilarious and horrifying at the same time. I woke up for real and realized our plane had not even taken off the tarmac yet.

Now I rarely dream, and if I did I do not remember my dreams; I already don’t remember much about this one. But the one feeling that stuck with me the most was this intense stab of dread that I would never get to see my family and friends again.

If there was ever a way for your subconscious to tell you that you miss your loved ones, a joke “snakes on a plane” dream is about as literal as it can get.

Happy Chinese New Years, may this Water Snake Year bring you and your loved ones closer together. Thank-you to all my friends and family who made my visit home to the US so wonderful.

Leave a Reply

