Three Hour Naptime

I’ve found my initial transition into Hainan at times rocky, at times straight up frustrating, and at times infuriating.

Today I must say has been one of the more infuriating days. I just spent a good portion of this morning running around trying to meet with professors, deans, and their administrative staff but I’m beginning to feel like no one actually works from their offices or answers their phones. I can’t tell if it’s because it’s the end of the semester so people are off their usual schedule, or if this is the norm, I fervently hope it’s the former.

I’m also finding that I must mentally adjust over to island time. Recently, I’ve found myself quite out of sync with the Hainan schedule – where they are accustomed not only to a more relaxed pace of life but a THREE hour long nap-time in the middle of the day. Basically from 11:30 am to 3 pm, the ENTIRE city shuts down, which I guess makes sense when the weather is hot but is absolutely infuriating right now, during the Winter months when there is really absolutely no reason for this massive break.

I guess I’m still hopped up on the break-neck northern pace of life, the Beijing work schedule which runs 24/7 with absolutely no consideration for evenings and weekends. It’s weird that while trapped in the Beijing insanity I would give anything for a free moment, but now that I’m on an island dedicated to leisure, the slow pace of things here is driving me insane.

Well I guess now I have a 3 hour window of writing every day, wether or not I want it. I guess at least I finally understand why people here don’t need coffee….

Leave a Reply

